## The Iowa Council on Homelessness

### DRAFT AGENDA

Friday, November 18, 2022, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

### VIRTUAL OPTION TO JOIN:

<u>Click here to join the meeting;</u> (Meeting ID: 222 861 087 660; Passcode: iLrDoL) Or Call: +1 515-348-6300, code 342041435#

#### **IN-PERSON OPTION TO JOIN:**

Missouri River Conference Room <u>Iowa Finance Authority</u> 1963 Bell Avenue Des Moines, Iowa 50315

Meeting Minutes & Other Resources: <u>https://www.iowafinance.com/homelessness/homeless-</u> service-agencies/iowa-council-on-homelessness/

Please use this link to sign in to meeting: https://tinyurl.com/ICHNovember2022

Acting Chair for this Meeting: Ashley Schwalm (previous Council chair)

- Introductions (member list)
  - Voting members:
    - Ben Brustkern
    - Crissy Canganelli
    - Mariliegh Fisher
    - Rachel Geilenfeld
    - David Hagen
    - Mary Ingham
    - Dennis Lauterbach
    - Hope Metheny
    - Ashley Schwalm
    - Gary Wickering
    - o Tim Wilson

- Non-voting members (state agencies)
  - Eugenia Kendall (Aging)
  - o Lori Miller (Attorney General)
  - o Katrina Carter (Corrections)
  - Emily Teeter (Education)
  - o Terri Rosonke (Finance Authority)
  - o Karen Hyatt (Human Services)
  - o James Pender (Public Health)
  - o John Ralls (Veterans Affairs)
  - William Berning (Workforce Development)
- Approval of Agenda (Action Item)
- **Public Comment Period:** A public comment period for the full meeting will be held at this time to accommodate visitors. This period is limited to 2 minutes per person and 10 minutes in total.
- Council Administration/Leadership
  - o Review of changes to Council in Iowa Code (Kristin Hanks-Bents, IFA)
  - Election of Chair (Action Item)
  - Election of Vice-Chair (Action Item)

# The Iowa Council on Homelessness

• Review of proposed amendments to 265 Chapter 31, Council Administrative Rules (*Kristin Hanks-Bents, IFA*)

### • Committees

• Nominating Committee:

• Election of five members per code (at least two voting and two non-voting); this may be done now or at a later meeting *(Action Item)* 

• Executive Committee

• This is not in code but will be addressed in Administrative Rules. Consider electing or appointing up to six members to serve as Interim Executive Committee until Administrative Rules are approved *(Action Item)* 

- Other Committees?
- Homeless Management Information System (HMIS) Updates, Institute for Community Alliances (Gary Wickering)

### • Continuum of Care (CoC) Updates, as available

- Iowa Balance of State CoC (96 counties)
- Homeward (Polk County)
- Siouxland Coalition to End Homelessness (Woodbury County)
- Metro Area Continuum of Care for the Homeless (Pottawattamie County)

### • State Agency Representative Updates

- Department on Aging (Eugenia Kendall)
- Office of the Attorney General (Lori Miller)
- o Department of Corrections (Katrina Carter)
- Department of Education *(Emily Teeter)*
- Finance Authority (Terri Rosonke and Rick Peterson)
- o Department of Human Services (Karen Hyatt)
- Department on Public Health (James Pender
- Department of Veterans Affairs (John Ralls)
- Workforce Development (William Berning)
- Old Business
- New Business
- Next Meeting: Friday, January 20, 2023
- Adjourn