

# IOWA FINANCE AUTHORITY SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

October 27, 2023

# Helmick Conference Room 1963 Bell Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa

## Board Members Present

Tracey Ball, Member
Jennifer Cooper, Vice Chair
John Eisenman, Member
Michel Nelson, Chair
Amy Reasner, Member
Gilbert Thomas, Treasurer
Michael Van Milligen, Member
Nate Weaton, Member
Jina Bresson, Ex-Officio

#### Board Members Absent

Representative Daniel Gehlbach, Ex-Officio Representative Lindsay James, Ex-Officio Senator Zach Wahls, Ex-Officio

#### Post-Roll Call Board Member Arrivals and Departures (Virtual Attendance)

Board Member	Join Time	Leave Time
Gretchen McLain, Member	9:08 a.m.	9:37 a.m.
Senator Scott Webster, Ex-Officio	9:11 a.m.	9:19 a.m.
Ashley Aust, Member	9:13 a.m.	9:37 a.m.
Senator Scott Webster, Ex-Officio	9:30 a.m.	9:37 a.m.

## Staff Members Present

whichene Bodie, it G Accounting Manager	ľ
-----------------------------------------	---

Catalina Bos, Legal Office Administrator Rob Christensen, Chief Information Officer Vicky Clinkscales, Customer Service & Project Specialist

Mark Fairley, Finance & Investment Manager Andy Gjerstad, Multifamily Loan Servicing Account Manager

Manager
Rita Grimm, Chief Legal Counsel
Kristin Hanks-Bents, Legal Counsel
Nichole Hansen, Policy & Partnership Manager
Cindy Harris, Chief Financial Officer

Staci Hupp Ballard, Chief Strategic
Communications Officer
Ashley Jared, Communications Director
David Morrison, Single Family Accounting Manager
Rick Peterson, Chief Operations Officer

Jennifer Pulford, Accounting Director
Terri Rosonke, Housing Programs & Strategic
Initiatives Manager
Aaron Smith, Chief Bonds Program Officer
Brian Sullivan, Chief Programs Officer
Dan Stout, Operations Accounting Manager
Stephanie Volk, Accounting Manager



#### Others Present

Holly Engelhart, Eide Bailly, LLP Tara Engquist, Eide Bailly, LLP Heather Hackbarth, *Iowa Dept. of Management* James Smith, *Dorsey & Whitney LLP* 

#### 1. BOARD CHAIR

#### Roll Call

Chair Nelson called to order the October 27, 2023, special meeting of the lowa Finance Authority (IFA) Board of Directors at **9:00 a.m**. Roll call was taken, and a quorum was established. The following Board members were **present**: Tracey Ball, Jennifer Cooper, John Eisenman, Michel Nelson, Amy Reasner, Gilbert Thomas, Michael Van Milligen, and Nate Weaton. The following Board members were **absent**: Ashley Aust and Gretchen McLain.

#### 2. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Chair Nelson opened the public comment period and asked if anyone in the audience would like to address the Board. No members of the audience requested to speak. Chair Nelson closed the public comment period.

#### 3. FINANCE

# Presentation and Approval of FY2023 Audited Financials

Holly Engelhart and Tara Engquist, from Eide Bailly, LLP, presented the FY 2023 audit and the findings of the audit were discussed.

**MOTION**: On a motion by Mr. Van Milligen and seconded by Mr. Eisenman, the Board unanimously approved the FY2023 Audited Financials.

#### 4. OTHER BUSINESS

The next meeting of the IFA Board of Directors will be Wednesday, November 1, 2023, at 11:00 a.m.

#### 5. ADJOURNMENT

**MOTION**: On a motion by Mr. Weaton and seconded by Ms. Reasner, the October 27, 2023, special meeting of the Iowa Finance Authority Board of Directors adjourned at **9:37 a.m.** 

Dated this 1<sup>st</sup> day of November 2023.

Respectfully submitted:

Deborah Durham

Director

Approved as to form:

Jennifer Cooper, Vice Chair Iowa Finance Authority

Jenyer a. Corpse