

# **IOWA FINANCE AUTHORITY**

### BOARD MEETING MINUTES

December 6, 2023

Mississippi Conference Room 1963 Bell Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa

Board Members Absent

#### Board Members Present

Ashley Aust Gretchen McLain Tracey Ball Nate Weaton

Jennifer Cooper Jina Bresson, Ex-Officio

John Eisenman Senator Zach Wahls, *Ex-Officio* Michel Nelson (*joined at 11:06 am*)

Amy Reasner
Gilbert Thomas
Michael Van Milligen
Representative Daniel Cohlbach

Representative Daniel Gehlbach, Ex-Officio Representative Lindsay James, Ex-Officio Senator Scott Webster, Ex-Officio

### Staff Members Present

Michelle Bodie Katie Kulisky Catalina Bos Dillon Malone Vicky Clinkscales Megan Marsh Debi Durham **David Morrison** Rick Peterson Alyson Fleming Derek Folden Dave Powell Andy Gjerstad Jennifer Pulford Rita Grimm Terri Rosonke Kristin Hanks-Bents **Aaron Smith** Nichole Hansen **Brian Sullivan** Cindy Harris Stephanie Volk

**Ashley Jared** 

### Others Present

Holly Engelhart, Eide Bailly, LLP
David Grossklaus, Dorsey & Whitney LLP

James Smith, Dorsey & Whitney LLP



### 1. BOARD CHAIR

# a. Roll Call

Vice Chair Cooper called to order the December 6, 2023, meeting of the Iowa Finance Authority (IFA) Board of Directors at 11:00 a.m. Roll call was taken, and a quorum was established. The following Board members were **present**: Ashley Aust, Tracey Ball, Jennifer Cooper, John Eisenman, Amy Reasner, Gilbert Thomas, and Michael Van Milligen. The following Board members were **absent**: Gretchen McLain, Michel Nelson, and Nate Weaton.

b. Approval of the November 1, 2023, IFA Board Meeting Minutes

**MOTION**: On a motion by Mr. Eisenman and seconded by Ms. Aust, the Board unanimously approved the November 1, 2023, IFA Board Meeting Minutes.

### 2. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Vice Chair Cooper opened the public comment period and asked if anyone in the audience would like to address the Board. No members of the audience requested to speak. Vice Chair Cooper closed the public comment period.

#### CONSENT AGENDA

Vice Chair Cooper stated she would be removing the following items from the Consent Agenda:

IADD – Authorizing Resolutions

- A. AG 23-071B, Nicholas Harry Riessen
- B. AG 23-072B, Matthew Paul Riessen
- C. AG 23-073B, Timothy James Riessen
- D. AG 23-074B, Kassidy L. Reicks
- E. AG 23-075B, Kyle L. Reicks
- F. AG 23-076B, Adam Michael Kleespies
- a. **MOTION**: Mr. Van Milligen made a motion to approve the following items on the Consent Agenda:

IADD - Authorizing Resolutions

- G. AG 23-077B, Kaitlin K. Wiley
- H. AG 23-078-IB, Robert Edward and Sara M. Nosbisch
- I. AG 23-079B, Colby A. Groe
- J. AG 23-080B, Kooper Dahlstrom
- K. AG 23-081B, Chase and Macie Blazek
- L. AG 23-082B, David Alan Balik
- M. AG 23-083B, Marty and Alicia Dollen

IADD – Amending Resolutions

N. 04786M, Leon Trappe



IADD - Beginning Farmer Tax Credit Program

- O. AG-TC 23-10, Beginning Farmer Tax Credit Program Water Quality
  - P. WQ 23-21, State Revolving Fund Construction Loans

On a second by Ms. Aust, the Board unanimously approved the remaining items on the Consent Agenda.

- b) **MOTION**: Ms. Reasner made a motion to approve item AG 23-071B, Nicholas Harry Riessen. On a second made by Ms. Aust, a roll call vote was taken with the following results: **Yes:** Ashley Aust, Tracey Ball, Jennifer Cooper, John Eisenman, Amy Reasner, Michael Van Milligen; **No:** None; **Abstain:** Gilbert Thomas. The motion passed.
- c) **MOTION**: Ms. Reasner made a motion to approve item AG 23-072B, Matthew Paul Riessen. On a second made by Ms. Aust, a roll call vote was taken with the following results: **Yes:** Ashley Aust, Tracey Ball, Jennifer Cooper, John Eisenman, Amy Reasner, Michael Van Milligen; **No:** None; **Abstain:** Gilbert Thomas. The motion passed.
- d) **MOTION**: Ms. Reasner made a motion to approve item AG 23-073B, Timothy James Riessen. On a second made by Mr. Eisenman, a roll call vote was taken with the following results: **Yes:** Ashley Aust, Tracey Ball, Jennifer Cooper, John Eisenman, Amy Reasner, Michael Van Milligen; **No:** None; **Abstain:** Gilbert Thomas. The motion passed.
- e) **MOTION**: Mr. Eisenman made a motion to approve item AG 23-074B, Kassidy L. Reicks. On a second made by Ms. Reasner, a roll call vote was taken with the following results: **Yes:** Ashley Aust, Tracey Ball, Jennifer Cooper, John Eisenman, Amy Reasner, Michael Van Milligen; **No:** None; **Abstain:** Gilbert Thomas. The motion passed.
- f) **MOTION**: Ms. Reasner made a motion to approve item AG 23-075B, Kyle L. Reicks. On a second made by Ms. Aust, a roll call vote was taken with the following results: **Yes:** Ashley Aust, Tracey Ball, Jennifer Cooper, John Eisenman, Amy Reasner, Michael Van Milligen; **No:** None; **Abstain:** Gilbert Thomas. The motion passed.
- g) **MOTION**: Ms. Reasner made a motion to approve item AG 23-076B, Adam Michael Kleespies. On a second made by Ms. Aust, a roll call vote was taken with the following results: **Yes:** Ashley Aust, Tracey Ball, Jennifer Cooper, John Eisenman, Amy Reasner, Michael Van Milligen; **No:** None; **Abstain:** Gilbert Thomas. The motion passed.

11:06 am Michel Nelson joined the meeting. Vice Chairman Cooper yielded the Chair to Chairman Nelson.



#### 4. FINANCE

### October 2023 Financials

Ms. Pulford presented the highlights of the October 2023 financial results which were included in the board packet.

**MOTION**: On a motion by Mr. Eisenman and seconded by Ms. Reasner, the Board unanimously approved the October 2023 Financials.

### 5. IOWA TITLE GUARANTY (ITG)

# **Transfer of Funds**

Mr. Malone shared that the ITG Board met December 5 and approved a transfer of revenue in excess of claims reserves and operating expenses in the amount of \$615,000 to the Housing Assistance Fund.

**MOTION**: On a motion by Ms. Cooper and seconded by Ms. Aust, the Board unanimously approved the Transfer of Funds.

### 6. HOUSING PROGRAMS

a. <u>HI 23-22, SHTF – FY 2024 Local Housing Trust Fund (LHTF) Program Awards</u>
 Ms. Rosonke presented a resolution requesting Board approval of recommended FY 2024
 LHTF Program awards totaling \$11,268,405 as set forth in Exhibit A.

**MOTION**: Ms. Aust made a motion to approve HI 23-22, SHTF – FY 2024 Local Housing Trust Fund (LHTF) Program Awards. On a second made by Ms. Reasner, a roll call vote was taken with the following results: **Yes:** Ashley Aust, Tracey Ball, John Eisenman, Michel Nelson, Amy Reasner, and Gilbert Thomas; **No:** None; **Abstain:** Jennifer Cooper and Michael Van Milligen. The motion passed.

#### 7. DIRECTOR'S OFFICE

### Director's Report

Ms. Durham provided a report.

### 8. OTHER BUSINESS

Chair Nelson provided a reminder of the upcoming Board meeting on Wednesday, January 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2024, at 11:00 am.

#### 9. ADJOURNMENT

**MOTION**: On a motion by Ms. Reasner and seconded by Ms. Aust, the December 6, 2023, meeting of the Iowa Finance Authority Board of Directors adjourned at 11:38 a.m.



Dated this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of January 2024.

Respectfully submitted:

Approved as to form:

Deborah Durham

Director

Michel Nelson, Chair Iowa Finance Authority