Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know
Close Search

Iowa Affordable Housing Initiatives Showcased with 2019 HousingIowa Awards


Photo showing an award with Iowa Finance Authority's logo on it. The award is made of glass and is cut in the shape of Iowa.
Iowa Finance Authority awarded affordable housing initiatives at the 2019 HousingIowa Awards.

HousingIowa Awards Recognize Outstanding Housing Projects and Leaders

CEDAR RAPIDS – The Iowa Finance Authority recently recognized outstanding affordable housing initiatives and leaders with HousingIowa Awards at the 2019 HousingIowa Conference in Cedar Rapids.

The HousingIowa Awards recognize outstanding programs, projects and professionals for leadership and innovation in advancing affordable housing development in Iowa. The award categories include: Innovation, Multifamily, Single-Family, Special Needs Development and Legislative Friend of Housing.

In addition to the HousingIowa Awards, the Kay Anderson Friend of Iowa Award was awarded. It was founded in 2008 when the state of Iowa lost an exceptional community development advocate with the passing of Kay Anderson, of LeMars. A long-time member of the Iowa Finance Authority Board of Directors, Kay is remembered for her commitment to the success of programs that enhance the quality of life for Iowans. This award recognizes an individual who encompasses Kay’s outstanding qualities.

An independent panel of judges selected the following the 2019 HousingIowa Award winners:

Single-Family Development

Cedar Valley Habitat for Humanity and Greater Cedar Rapids Housing & Building Association


Home Builders Blitz, Cedar Rapids

Multifamily Development

Hatch Development Group


Hotel Maytag, Newton

Innovation Award

Greater Des Moines Habitat for Humanity


Birdland Pocket Neighborhood, Des Moines

Special Needs Development

Shelter House


Cross Park Place, Iowa City

Legislative Friend of Iowa

Senator Liz Mathis, Cedar Rapids

Kay Anderson Friend of Iowa Award

Jeannie Kingery, Northern Lights Alliance for the Homeless, Mason City


More information about the HousingIowa Awards is available at